Main Content

Fayette County

Fayette County was created on Dec. 20th, 1824 from portions of Tuscaloosa and Marion counties. It is located in the northwest-central section of the state. It currently encompasses 630 square miles. The county was named for Gen. Marie Jean Paul Joseph Roche Yves Gilbert du Motier, Marquis de Lafayette, who was touring Alabama at the time of the county’s formation. Check out the Fayette County Public Fishing Lake and the Fayette Aquatic Center.

Sorry we are experiencing system issues. Please try again.