Main Content

Jefferson County

Jefferson County was created by the Alabama legislature on Dec. 13th, 1819. It was named in honor of Thomas Jefferson. The county is located in the north-central portion of the state, on the southern extension of the Appalachians, in the center of the iron, coal and limestone belt of the South. Jefferson County is bordered by Blount, Bibb, St. Clair, Shelby, Tuscaloosa and Walker counties. Check out the Birmingham Botanical Gardens, the Birmingham Zoo and Alabama Adventure & Splash Adventure.

Sorry we are experiencing system issues. Please try again.